Language selector

colour

OHRC written deputation to the Toronto Police Services Board re: Police Reform in Toronto: Systemic Racism, Alternative Community Safety and Crisis Response Models and Building New Confidence in Public Safety

The Ontario Human Rights Commission (OHRC) is providing this written deputation to the Toronto Police Services Board (TPSB) in response to its August 11, 2020, report on Police Reform in Toronto: Systemic Racism, Alternative Community Safety and Crisis Response Models and Building New Confidence in Public Safety and the recommendations it contains (Police Reform Report), which are being considered for approval at its August 18, 2019, meeting.

New OHRC report confirms Black people disproportionately arrested, charged, subjected to use of force by Toronto police

August 10, 2020

A Disparate Impact, the second interim report in the Ontario Human Rights Commission’s inquiry into racial profiling and racial discrimination of Black persons by the Toronto Police Service (TPS), confirms that Black people are more likely than others to be arrested, charged, over-charged, struck, shot or killed by Toronto police.

A Disparate Impact: Second interim report on the inquiry into racial profiling and racial discrimination of Black persons by the Toronto Police Service

A Disparate Impact, the second interim report in the Ontario Human Rights Commission’s inquiry into racial profiling and racial discrimination of Black persons by the Toronto Police Service (TPS), confirms that Black people are more likely than others to be arrested, charged, over-charged, struck, shot or killed by Toronto police.

Letter to the special advisor of the Ontario Health Data Platform about data collection

July 14, 2020

While we are pleased to see the announcement on June 15, 2020, that Ontario is expanding data collection to include race, income, language and household size for individuals who have tested positive for COVID-19, in our view, these categories do not go far enough. We reiterate the importance of meaningful consultation on data collection and involving Code-protected and other vulnerable groups who are at heightened risk.

Letter to Minister Lecce on the Peel District School Board Review

June 5, 2020

I am writing on behalf of the Ontario Human Rights Commission (OHRC) to acknowledge the steps the Ministry of Education (Ministry) has taken on its review of the Peel District School Board (PDSB) in response to growing concerns about systemic discrimination, anti-Black racism, discord among senior leadership, and issues of governance. The OHRC is very troubled by the review’s findings, and the significant human rights issues raised in the way that the PDSB manages issues related to Black students. 

OHRC and corrections workers call for dedicated funding to address crisis in Ontario corrections

January 21, 2020

In an unprecedented joint submission the Ontario Human Rights Commission (OHRC) and OPSEU Corrections Management-Employee Relations Committee (MERC), which represents front line correctional staff, are calling on the Ontario government to dedicate funds in the 2020 Budget to address the crisis in Ontario’s correctional system.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - colour

Language selector

Social Media Links FR


Facebook CODP Twitter CODP Instagram logo Link to OHRC Instagram page

couleur

CODP Mémoire à l’intention de la Commission de services policiers de Toronto concernant son Rapport sur la réforme de la police à Toronto destiné à lutter contre le racisme systémique, à établir d’autres modèles de sécurité communautaire et d’intervention

La Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne (CODP) remet ce mémoire à la Commission de services policiers de Toronto (CSPT) en réponse à son rapport du 11 août 2020 intitulé Police Reform in Toronto: Systemic Racism, Alternative Community Safety and Crisis Response Models and Building New Confidence in Public Safety et aux recommandations qui y sont formulées (ci-après, le Rapport sur la réforme de la police), qui seront à l’examen pour approbation à sa réunion du 18 août 2019.

Le nouveau rapport de la CODP confirme que les Noirs sont plus susceptibles d’être interpelés, inculpés et assujettis à un usage de la force par la police de Toronto et ce, de façon disproportionnée

Août 10, 2020

Un impact disparate, le deuxième rapport provisoire relatif à l’Enquête de la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne sur le profilage et la discrimination raciale par le service de police de Toronto (SPT) confirme que les Noirs sont plus susceptibles que les autres personnes d’être arrêtés et inculpés, de faire l’objet d’accusations excessives, et d’être frappés, abattus ou tués par la police de Toronto.

Un impact disparate : Deuxième rapport provisoire relatif à l’Enquête de la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne sur le profilage et la discrimination raciale par le service de police de Toronto

Un impact disparate, le deuxième rapport provisoire relatif à l’Enquête de la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne sur le profilage et la discrimination raciale par le service de police de Toronto (SPT) confirme que les Noirs sont plus susceptibles que les autres personnes d’être arrêtés et inculpés, de faire l’objet d’accusations excessives, et d’être frappés, abattus ou tués par la police de Toronto.

Lettre à la conseillère spéciale de la Plateforme ontarienne des données sur la santé à propos de la collecte de données

Juillet 14, 2020

Bien que nous ayons été enchantés d’apprendre, le 15 juin 2020, que les données recueillies par l’Ontario sur les personnes ayant obtenu un résultat positif au dépistage de la COVID-19 allaient maintenant inclure des informations sur la race, le revenu, la langue et la taille des ménages, nous sommes d’avis que ces catégories ne sont pas assez exhaustives. Nous rappelons l’importance d’entreprendre des consultations sérieuses sur la collecte de données et d’y assurer la participation de groupes protégés par le Code et d’autres groupes vulnérables qui courent un risque accru.

Lettre à l’honorable Stephen Lecce sur l’examen du Peel District School Board

Juin 5, 2020

Au nom de la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne (CODP), je prends acte des mesures prises par le ministère de l’Éducation (ci-après le « ministère ») dans le cadre de son examen du Peel District School Board (PDSB) faisant suite aux préoccupations croissantes liées à la discrimination systémique, au racisme envers les Noirs, à la discorde au sein de la haute direction et aux problèmes de gouvernance. La CODP est extrêmement troublée par les conclusions du rapport et par les importantes questions de droits de la personne que soulève la gestion des enjeux relatifs aux élèves noirs par le PDSB. 

Lettre à l’honorable Christine Elliott sur les questions relatives aux droits de la personne que pourraient soulever les mesures prises par le ministère de la Santé en réponse à la COVID‑19

Avril 9, 2020

J’espère que votre équipe et vous êtes en santé et en sécurité. Au nom de la Commission ontarienne des droits de la personne (CODP), je vous remercie des efforts continus que vous déployez en réponse à la pandémie de COVID‑19.

La CODP et les travailleurs correctionnels réclament des fonds spéciaux pour résoudre la crise du système correctionnel en Ontario

Janvier 21, 2020

In an unprecedented joint submission [link to submission] the Ontario Human Rights Commission (OHRC) and OPSEU Corrections Management-Employee Relations Committee (MERC), which represents front line correctional staff, are calling on the Ontario government to dedicate funds in the 2020 Budget to address the crisis in Ontario’s correctional system.

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - couleur